Skip to content

Persona 3 Relationships

December 1, 2008

This post was contributed by El, Shiro’s girlfriend, who has her own blog at Fangirlisms.com.

Ah, Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3. Where cute robot girls and albino dogs discuss things like school and dog food. Seriously though, Persona 3 was a lot of fun to play, and I’d love to replay it when I have more time on my hands.

I recall getting around to thinking about friendships and relationships based on the game’s Social Link system. In the game, each of your “Social Link” (i.e. friendships/relationships with certain characters) is associated with a specific card from the Tarot’s major arcana, and improving these relationships help you power-up Persona that are associated with the cards.

The player starts out making friends based on the idea that he has to make friends with people to become stronger. It didn’t seem so wrong until I started thinking, “So, the sole purpose of making friends is to further your own interests?” I suppose there is some truth to that thought; we do tend to avoid making friends with people who don’t bring anything good into our lives, but it’s a selfish way of thinking, isn’t it?

As I progressed through the game the first time I played it, I tried to complete the Social Links as best I could. In the process of expanding my circle of friends, I neglected the very first Social Links I established, and the result was a “reversed” Tarot card because the guy got so upset with my character. I had to bug him thrice to get him back to being friends with my character again. I find it strangely amusing how that kind of thing happens in real life…forgetting one’s old friends because he/she’s expanding his/her social circle. And in a lot of real-life situations, fixing a neglected friendship entails more than just bugging the person into accepting your apology.

And if you’re not one to pause the game and ponder the wonders of human relationships, there’s always the eye-candy to ogle. If you’re a guy. Or a girl like me, who seems to have great appreciation for fellow females who are pretty, or girls that my man thinks are pretty.

Yukari, Fuuka, and Mitsuru in their bathing suits.

Yukari, Fuuka, and Mitsuru greeting you in their bathing suits.

And here, have some Yukari artwork. I think she’s easily the prettiest girl in the game, unless you prefer lolis like Fuuka and Chidori, or uptight girls who look too old for their age like Mitsuru. I have nothing against Aigis though, she’s really cute.

Aigis wants to wear a bathing suit too.

Aigis wants to wear a bathing suit too.

Update: Persona 3 will be available for the PSP as Persona 3 Portable. Pre-order Persona 3 Portable at Play-Asia!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

