Skip to content

Warhammer Online First Impressions

November 6, 2008

I know, I’m sorta late on this but I’ve been holding out for a while because I didn’t want another MMORPG to derail me from work. Last week, I hesitantly bought myself a copy of Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning. I wasn’t worried about how good it would be or how it might not live up to the hype. I was worried that my laptop won’t be able to handle it. With a 1.6GHz Turion64, 1GB of RAM, and a measly 128MB built-in Radeon Xpress 200M, it’s barely coming close to the minimum specs. But like a repressed swordmaster, I ponied up the cash and hoped for the best. I went home after spending time with my girl and inst…

AT LEAST 15GB? Fine, I’ll have to delete some shit on my drive. Takes me the whole night to just make 15GBs. I finish installing at about 3:00AM and I went to sleep while it patched. Boy, I can’t wait to play…

…a slideshow. Christ, I knew my laptop wasn’t high end but DAMN. I could play on Arathi Basin with little frame skips and here I am waiting for my screen to stop skipping like schoolgirl playing hopscotch. After Googling a few minutes for possible performance enhancing tweaks, I found this and BuffThrottle. This is the first time I’ve heard that jacking up your settings will increase performance and it ‘somewhat’ helped but I opted to just go for low framerate settings in the end. BuffThrottle made it a bit tolerable. Anyway, after the performance voodoo, WAR ran for me and I created my first character the Ironclaw Oceanic server, a Warrior Priest named Cecillia.

Its all fun and games till someone loses an eye. Then it becomes awesome.

It's all fun and games till someone loses an eye. Then it becomes awesome.

Isn’t she a precious little thing? When creating or playing a character in almost any game, I make it a point to use the more attractive ones. Make ’em beautiful and handsome. Partly why I end up choosing elves, dark elves, etc. With Cecillia, pretty was not an option but she ended up looking awesome with her eyepatch. Sisters of Battle fuck yeah!

Click ‘Play’. After what seemed like an hour of loading, I entered a very skip-trippy Nordland and was introduced to a naked Bright Wizard counting off mysterious numbers. “1064, 1065, 1066” and so on. I was wondering what kind of quest he was on, or perhaps he was an NPC issuing encoded messages.

Then I found out he was just a gold selling bot.

After the initial shock, I actually liked all the shiny new stuff. Explosions around the town, saving villagers from burning houses, smiting pillagers, and firing cannons into hapless enemies. I take on a few quests and then take a bat at the Nordenwatch Scenario.

I was pleasantly surprised. At Rank 2 with default gear, I stood a chance against the Destro zerg. I was healing and dealing (damage). I was running to and fro, capturing objectives and respawning. Real fun overall and I’ve been playing whenever I get time off after work. Cecillia’s grown up since then, but that’s another story.

Obviously, my first gripe is the performance. I would’ve loved it if it was as accessible as WoW’s minimum specifications, but alas, with good graphics comes great responsibility. I’m probably gonna buy myself a new rig just to play WAR. Buying a new PC means a few weeks of cutting back on salon visits and protein shakes. I’ll survive. Somehow.

What awaits Cecillia in her adventures? Let’s hope WAR keeps getting better to find out.

Leave a Reply

