Skip to content

A Sucker for Eye Candy

November 8, 2008

Ooh, sexy.

Looks can deceive. Never judge a book by its cover. Substance over appearance. Common phrases that tell you to prioritize what’s inside instead of the outside. Noble words, and make sense they do. But at the end of the day, I can’t help but fall for the looker, the sexy, and the attractive (as I’ve previously touched on). I can’t help it – I’m a sucker for eye candy.

A lot of my gaming choices have been initially based on attractive characters. How I pick which character to play, which class to roll, or what armor/costume to put on. What can I say? I like playing as the better looking characters. Paul Barnett talked about how players choose their in-game personas before. I sure don’t look like an Elf/Dark Elf but I think of them as ideals, as goals. I wouldn’t feel right if I resigned myself to playing a Dwarf or an Orc – it would feel defeatist for me.

Let’s see – I loved Lineage II because of the character design. RF Online, ZerA Online, and other Korean MMOs share the same sentiment. Soul Calibur IV and the high amount of the pretties was a hit for me. I used the Raiden mask in MGS4 all the time. I gave a lot of games a try and stuck with some of them just because of the visuals. What a whore.

But who could say no to a good looking person? We’re hotwired to seek a mate with the best qualities and studies show that good looking people have a higher chance of procreating. It’s just an urge to have something attractive to look at.

If there isn’t an attractive male avatar to select, I usually play a female character. There’s just something about seeing a hot chick lay the smack down. Plus, the treatment you get in MMOs is much better if you play a female avatar. And yeah, I like ’em pixels.

Of course, my ‘attraction’ to the characters doesn’t stop at face value. In single player games, substance would win me over the more I spend time playing. DoA Xtreme Beach Volleyball is a hollow, hollow shell and I consider it a cheap thrill. Devil May Cry’s Dante, on the other hand, has some semblance of character and is a snappy dresser, too. In MMORPGs, I give my characters personalities. I semi-roleplay with my girlfriend and her MMORPG characters and give them backstories, conflicts, interests, and they end up deeper than I imagined at the character creation screen.

All in all, it boils down to preference. Rarely have I gone for the unattractive characters or pity roles. We play games for fun and every part of the process should be. If I pick eye candy over efficiency, that’s because I like it.

I just like having my character look fine. And have angry washboard knuckle breaking hard abs.

What about you? How do you justify your character choices?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Skullpion permalink
    November 9, 2008 12:39 am

    I like to look good in most of my games too I think the only exception is my Orc on WoW LOL. It took a lot of respect and backstory for Thrall and the Horde for me to make that decision though, in the end, I’m still rolling that Blood Elf Death Knight.

Trackbacks

  1. Feeling Sober About Keg End? « Metro Gamer - Stylin’, Gamin’ and Profilin’
  2. Fangirlisms » Blog Archive » Return to Azeroth

Leave a Reply

