Skip to content

Emil Chronicle Online

November 28, 2008

Wow. A month late on the news, but I just read that Level Up! is publishing Emil Chronicle Online for the Philippines. GM Tristan wrote about it back in October with some of the basics of the game.

ECO is a very cute MMORPG with cel-shaded graphics, set in the modern/fantasy world of Acronia. I’m not going into details because GM Tristan did a good job of detailing most of the stuff, but all I can say is that this game can potentially cause diabetes because of how cute it is. (screenshots to be added later for proof)

It’s particularly amusing for me because back in 2005, I was paid to playtest and review ECO on the Japanese servers. Mainly because I was such an awesome guy, but I think knowing how to read, write, and speak Japanese also had a small part in it. The company – Level Up, nonetheless.

During my short time in ECO, I met some nice players who didn’t think twice about helping a newbie. They also did stuff rarely seen in English-speaking game communities like work towards a common goal, be nice to each other, and general non-asshattery. One character named Me-tan taught me how to learn skills, gear up, and helped me level up out of nowhere. It was a refreshing change from “BR? GIB MONI PLS” and “PINOY? GIVE MONEY PO PLZZZ.” It does worry me that the charm of the Japanese community won’t be present in the local version, but that remains to be seen.

I lauded ECO in my report, stating how efficient the client was and how easy it was to pick up and play. It would certianly draw female audiences because of its appeal but it still had a lot of content for all gamers alike. After more or less 3 years, Level Up is bringing the cutesy MMORPG to Philippine shores and I can’t help but feel a bit of satisfaction – but that’s just me.

There’s also the possibility that my opinion didn’t have anything to do with the decision whatsoever.

Be sure to tune in to GM Tristan’s blog for updates on ECO and other Level Up antics.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

